Fairfax Electorate

Fairfax Electorate

The division of Fairfax is named after Ruth Fairfax, O.B.E. (1878-1948). Mrs Fairfax was the first state president of the Queensland Country Women’s Association and one of the state association’s founders.

The electoral division of Fairfax (QLD) covers an area of approximately 1,036 sq. kms of the central Sunshine Coast Regional Council area. The division extends from Peregian Springs and Eumundi in the north, to Maroochydore, Mountain Creek and Palmwoods in the south to Kenilworth in the west. The main towns include Buderim, Coolum Beach, Eumundi, Kenilworth, Mapleton, Maroochydore, Montville, Nambour, Palmwoods, Peregian Springs, Woombye and Yandina.

Industries in the area include local farms, which produce avocados, ginger, sugar cane, fruit juice, and tropical and exotic fruits, dairy and beef cattle, construction and infrastructure and the tourism industry, which is a major employer for the region. (http://www.aec.gov.au/profiles/qld/fairfax.htm)

Clive Palmer has been the member for Fairfax since 2013.

Fairfax Map